At the end of July 2008 the first chapter of this choir’s life came to a close.

A new chapter opened a month later, with a new name (though they will always be a very “special” bunch of people), a fresh mandate, and its Director now a contracted member of the Cathedral Music Department staff.  Not much has changed. The new choir is building on the achievements of the old one over the previous 13 years and carrying on its good work.

We are enjoying working with Scott Farrell, our Director of Music, who joined us in August 2008 from a similar position at Newcastle Cathedral (but Kent born and bred!).

In October 2013 we bade “Farewell” to Roger Sayer, who came to us as Assistant Organist in 1989, was promoted to Director of Music in 1994, and remained as Cathedral Organist from 2008. We wish him well in his new post as Director of Music at the Temple Church in London.

This year’s Organ Scholar is Catherine Olver from Belfast, a former Organ Scholar of Armagh Cathedral

As we begin the Summer Term of 2014 we welcome Claire Innes-Hopkins from Lincoln Cathedral as our new Assistant Director of Music and Director of the Girls Choir (successor to Sam Rathbone), and our new Cathedral Organist, Adrian Bawtree (succeeding Roger Sayer).

In the words of former UN Secretary-General Dag Hammarskjöld, which our former Cathedral Organist Barry Ferguson set to music:

For all that has been – Thanks!
To all that shall be – Yes!

And, as the late Bishop David Say said in his farewell address to the Diocese:

Alleluia - On we go!

[Home] [History] [Management] [Our CD] [Join the Choir] [Contact Us] [Who are we?] [What we do] [CHOIR TOURS] [Repertoire] [Calendar & Music] [Plaudits] [Choir Humour] [Dr Robert Ashfield RIP] [Heinz Schwartz RIP]